Marcus

Marcus

Hello, adoring fans <–Josh wrote that part. I would never be so vain.

I hope you find yourself well this fine, frickin’ freezing day. Are you well? Text me about it.

As you probably know, Joshua started the Marcus Autism Center’s feeding program this week. A few of you have asked questions about why he goes and what he does there. As always, I live to serve each and every one of you, so here is the Official Marcus Autism Center FAQ By Kristen And Not The Actual Center – OMACFAQBKANTAC for short.

Why do we go? 

Josh struggles with eating in a major way. He’s very underweight and has a hard time gaining any weight. May we all be so lucky, amirite? I kid, I kid; it’s fairly terrible. So this feeding program basically teaches kids how to eat better. Every kid’s experience is different, but the goal for every child who attends is to improve their eating skills in the way they need it most.

What do they do there? 

Josh’s main goal is weight gain, so they are working to increase both the variety and volume of table foods he will eat. Every patient has a schedule – it starts with 40 minutes for breakfast, then a 40 minute break; 40 minutes for snack/oral motor therapy, then another 40 minute break; 40 minutes for lunch, then a long two-hour break; 40 minutes for “dinner,” which is what they call it but it happens at 2:30 for us.

During the 40 minute sessions, Josh tries small bites of each of the four foods they have. They try to incorporate foods he likes alongside foods he resists, i.e., all fruits and vegetables ever. They give him a spoon with a tiny bite of whatever he is eating (it’s diced up into super tiny portions), and they let him feed himself. After he does that, he gets several seconds to chew and swallow, and then several more seconds before the next food is presented. They use a fairly rigid routine and verbal cues to prompt him to eat; in between bites, the therapists get silly with him and will sing songs or play little games at the table. He rotates through each of the types of food several times in one session, and they record how long it takes him, if he chews and swallows it all, if it makes him gag, and a whole bunch of other little squares that they fill in. They must have a huge spreadsheet budget at this place.

When he gets a break, we head to the main playroom. He likes the toys in there and he made a friend today! They also have a playground (we tried that yesterday and instantly froze to death; I’m actually writing this from heaven) and a family lounge where we can eat. He gets his own nap room, and today we spent some time in there so he could have a little rest.

What do you do the whole time, Beautiful and Amazing Kristen? 

Oh, stop. (But go on.) I can observe Josh during his sessions, so I have been watching those. I sit behind a two-way mirror so he can’t see me, but I can see and hear him. During the breaks, I just follow Joshua around until he stops to play. Much like every other day of my life.

Don’t you have a second kid? 

I do! Jenna is being a trooper and will either be with me, my mom, my very sweet neighbor, or a fire station of my choosing. She is allowed to come, but I don’t want her to have to spend all day down there too often, plus she has school twice a week, so we’ve worked out a little schedule for my little girl. The schedule has significantly fewer sparkles than the girl.

How long will this last? 

This is an eight-week program, and we are there Monday – Friday, 8:45 – 3:15. In Atlanta time, this means 7:00-4:00, but the day goes by a little faster since it’s broken up into blocks. I don’t think we run into any holidays during our time there but I’m pretty sure they have therapy basically every day but Christmas.

 

Why does it matter if he eats and/or gains weight? Plenty of kids are small for their age. 

Josh has cerebral palsy, and his muscle tone is all wacky. He needs to gain weight and strength and muscle tone to keep up with the demands his body makes for physical activities. A walk around the block is a much bigger effort for Joshua than the average bear. So he needs to get stronger, and this is the way to help him do that.

Cool? Cool. See my secretary with questions.

josh-hospital
I mustache you a question…but I’m shaving it for later. 
3 thoughts on “Marcus

  1. I think this is 1. Amazing that you found this cool place
    2. Awesome that he would get out of his comfort zone and do any of it. He must love you and trust you SO much! 3. Seriously super that you can be there, what a blessing. 4. A profound calling. God bless these wonderful folks who would commit their talents to helping sweet, amazing kids like Josh.

Leave a Reply

